A Blog by Expatriotic

Moving to China

This one might be a short one due to time constraints and just a desire to resume writing ASAP.

I've moved to China. I brought my family and I'm using HodlHodl to buy bitcoin. My situation is quite good so I can afford to put away > 50% of my income to savings. Closer to 90% actually last month, but it'll fluctuate.

I'm using a hardware wallet from Foundation called a Passport and it's incredible. Their Envoy app works like a charm as a watch-only wallet too.

I'm looking forward to front-running the impending halving next year in end of April. When the emissions of bitcoin will be cut in half, thus forcing price discovery in the market as demand is unchanged but suddenly there is a sharp reduction in bitcoin available for sale by miners, one of the chief sellers.

Being in China has made me uncomfortable from a privacy perspective. Every purchase is logged as use Alipay. There are cameras everywhere. Pollution is getting better, but it's still only outdone by cities in India. But at the same time, I'd not want to be in the states also where people can't afford rent or groceries either... Long term I don't know where I'll end up. Eight years in Indonesia was great, but it has it's own trade-offs. Pollution being one of them.

Last thought: As much as I'm a believer of orange coin, I'll definitely be shorting it as we reach a blow-off top in 2026 so I can buy more in the next bear market... Bitcoin is too predictable to not take advantage of the obvious pattern that's emerged... Buy in the bear, SELL into the bull or if you don't sell, start buying less and holding cash more.


Subscribe (check your spam!) | RSS feed | Donate