A Blog by Expatriotic

Reading, writing and children

I took a little break from posting because I've started a book club with some friends. So I was using my golden hours (from 8-12, once my wife and kids are asleep) to read or catch up on the sleep I lost writing the first articles. It's called "A Book Club". 👀 A bit on the 👃🏻 I know. I prefer meta-names. Hence the name of this blog is "A blog by expatriotic".

I have some things stewing in the background. Articles queued up to write. I told my wife after writing 8 or so articles before, at the beginning of this (and sleeping very little because of it--5 hours on average) that if I stop writing I'll stop for too long. Aaaand, I was right. There finally came a night where I just couldn't get a blog post out, and since then a week has gone by. Well most of that was due to the fact that I had been able to write before due to not having work for a week. That really helped. So I could sleep in after staying up til midnight writing. If you can call sleeping til 6 am because your toddler is kicking you in the side or head-butting you to wake up sleeping in.

Also, in case you didn't know, I have small children, so nighttime is sporadic and unpredictable. Frequently I would finish publishing an article at 11:30 PM or 12 AM only to have our 3-month-old wake up needing to rocked to sleep or changed...

So this is me coming back to this. Picking up where I left off. I never actually promised it would be a daily blog. But that was my goal for myself. I'll try my best to stick to it, but I may fail for various reasons to achieve that level of consistency. For one, I prefer to write evergreen content rather than seasonal. So I don't know how long I'll have material. Hopefully as I learn I'll continuously be coming up with new things to discuss here. Speaking of which, I hope to do a blog post with a summary of the first book my book club is reading, "The Sovereign Individual". ___

Subscribe (check your spam!) | RSS feed | Twitter | Donate